Free Help with Parenting

When Your Child Won’t Stay Anywhere Without You

May 19, 2019 4:00pm Pacific/ 7:00pm Eastern/ Monday, May 20th at 9:00am Sydney

Madeleine WinterIs your child really unhappy about leaving you for short periods? Is your child aggressive, or withdrawn when you are away from them? Ever found yourself putting off the inevitable separations from your child because you know they will be upset? Or maybe you don’t know how to handle the heart-wrenching tears?

The feelings your child has about being away from you can show up as tears, or as hard-to-handle behaviours.  But these feelings of separation anxiety are normal, and ebb and flow as your child grows—even well into the teens! And truth be told, sometimes we parents have to admit that we are struggling with big feelings about being away from our children.

But you don’t have to be “sideswiped” by your child’s big feelings when you say, “I have to go now”. These feelings can be acknowledged, anticipated, and effectively dealt with in ways that increase a child’s general confidence and willingness to separate from loved ones.  And you can get support, knowing you have a plan and some tools to help.

Join Certified Hand in Hand Instructor Madeleine Winter for an interactive Zoom session that will help you understand how to plan for and handle big feelings about saying goodbye.

This free service is made possible by donations to Hand in Hand Parenting.

Sign me up!



Posted in Event Category:
Free Help with Parenting